In Real Life by Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang | Review

inreallifeStats:

Title: In Real Life
Author: Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang
Publisher: First Second
Genre: Graphic Novel
Page Count:175
My Rating: 3 stars
Where to Purchase: Amazon, The Book Depository, Barnes and Noble

Summary (From goodreads):

Anda loves Coarsegold Online, the massively-multiplayer role-playing game where she spends most of her free time. It’s a place where she can be a leader, a fighter, a hero. It’s a place where she can meet people from all over the world, and make friends.

But things become a lot more complicated when Anda befriends a gold farmer–a poor Chinese kid whose avatar in the game illegally collects valuable objects and then sells them to players from developed countries with money to burn. This behavior is strictly against the rules in Coarsegold, but Anda soon comes to realize that questions of right and wrong are a lot less straightforward when a real person’s real livelihood is at stake.

From acclaimed teen author (Little Brother, For the Win) and Boing Boing editor Cory Doctorow and Koko Be Good creator Jen Wang, In Real Life is a perceptive and high-stakes look at adolescence, gaming, poverty, and culture clash.

My thoughts:

First off, I loved the art style in this graphic novel. It matches the cover, so it is a very cute, simple art style that is very easy to get into. That being said, what you see is what you get. It’s not very complicated. I prefer my graphic novels to be a little more complex where I have to pay a bit more attention to the frames and with this one, you can skim most of them.

I enjoyed the story. As a fan of video games myself, it was fun to see and I knew about some of the topics that were brought up in the book and the issues that arose. With that being said, I found the story rather predictable. I also found it a short. I would have loved for it to be a bit longer and to see the characters develop more. They ended up being one dimensional.

Overall, I liked this graphic novel. It was cute, fun, and light. It is a nice break between heavier reads. I would recommend it to any video game fans or anyone who is looking to get into graphic novels and wants something light to start out with.

2 thoughts on “In Real Life by Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang | Review

Leave a Reply

