Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson & Adrian Alphona | Review

nonormalStats:

Title: Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal
Author: G. Willow Wilson & Adrian Alphona
Publisher: Marvel
Genre: Graphic Novel
Page Count:120
My Rating: 4 stars
Where to Purchase: Amazon, The Book Depository, Barnes and Noble

Summary (From goodreads):

Marvel Comics presents the new Ms. Marvel, the groundbreaking heroine that has become an international sensation!

Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City — until she’s suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! When Kamala discovers the dangers of her newfound powers, she unlocks a secret behind them, as well. Is Kamala ready to wield these immense new gifts? Or will the weight of the legacy before her be too much to bear? Kamala has no idea, either. But she’s comin’ for you, New York!

It’s history in the making from acclaimed writer G. Willow Wilson (Air, Cairo) and beloved artist Adrian Alphona (RUNAWAYS)! Collecting MS. MARVEL (2014) #1-5 and material from ALL-NEW MARVEL NOW! POINT ONE #1.

My thoughts:

I know absolutely nothing about Ms. Marvel, so being able to jump into a reboot with a new origin story was really great for me. I loved being introduced to all of the new characters. While Kamala’s family felt a little one-dimensional and stereotypical, I hope those characters are developed more in future volumes and venture away from the tropes. Kamala as a character is very relatable and it is a fun, coming-of-age story. Kamala is someone a lot of us can relate to in that she is part of fandom (she writes Avengers fanfiction!) I also really enjoyed the different side characters of her friends that we are introduced to and I’m looking forward to more of their interactions.

Being unfamiliar with Ms. Marvel, I found her powers and the way she got them to be a little confusing. This volume did make me want to go back and find out more about previous incarnations of Ms. Marvel as well as the current Captain Marvel.

Overall, I found the story a lot of fun and I loved the art style. I’m looking forward to seeing this character develop more in future volumes.

2 thoughts on “Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson & Adrian Alphona | Review

  1. Beth says:

    I LOVE Ms. Marvel! I got into it when the trade first came out. I agree with you about the family. But that’s the way it is with comics–It’s take a while to get to know the other characters due to their serialized nature. Ms Marvel also got me into Captain Marvel! I’m super grateful to that because Captain Marvel (the Carol Danvers version) has become my absolute favourite super hero!

    Like

Leave a Reply

