The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 1: The Faust Act by Kieron Gillen | Review

TheWickedAndDivine_vol1-1Stats:

Title: The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 1: The Faust Act
Author: Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie (Illustrations), Matt Wilson (Colorist)
Publisher: Image Comics
Genre: Graphic Novel
Page Count: 144
My Rating: 5 stars
Where to Purchase: Amazon, The Book Depository, Barnes and Noble

Summary (From goodreads):

Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. The team behind critical tongue-attractors like Young Avengers and PHONOGRAM reunite to create a world where gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. But remember: just because youโ€™re immortal, doesnโ€™t mean youโ€™re going to live forever.

My thoughts:

I LOVED THIS! I haven’t instantly loved a series like this since I started Saga by Brian K. Vaughn. Firstly, the art is stunning. More importantly though, the storyline instantly had me hooked. Many people have said they found it confusing, but I disagree. It’s the beginning of a series and it’s intentionally vague. This volume sets up a lot of things going on in this world and with the dynamics between the gods, and I am so ready for the next volume. There are so many rich, diverse, complex characters and I cannot wait to see more of them. If you enjoy Saga or other Image productions, you will most likely enjoy this. I cannot recommend it enough.

Did you love The Wicked + The Divine as much as I did?

Samantha Signature

3 thoughts on “The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 1: The Faust Act by Kieron Gillen | Review

Leave a Reply

