Books that Celebrate Diversity | Top 10 Tuesday

Top 10 tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is books that celebrate diversity or diverse characters. I’m going to be using this week to talk about some highly anticipated LGBTQ+ reads on my TBR!

10. Aristotle & Dante discover the Secrets of the universe by benjamin alire saenz

arianddanteThe only reason I haven’t read this one yet is that I don’t own it.

9. Lies by girlfriend told me by Julie Anne Peters

liesmygirlfriendAfter the main character’s girlfriend dies, she founds out that she has been cheating on her their entire relationship. She ends up meeting up with the other girl, and they become close. I’m interested to see how this book handles a tough topic like this.

8. Black Iris by Leah Raeder

blackirisThis is a thriller, which usually isn’t my genre, but I’m willing to try it out because the main character is bisexual.

7. everything leads to you by nina lacour

18667779This one has probably been on my TBR the longest. It’s about a main character who is a lesbian, but it is not a coming out story. Sounds refreshing.

6. What we left behind by robin talley

9780373211753_BBThis one isn’t released until September, but I am so excited for it. It features a lesbian couple, who are separated due to going to different colleges. This is rare enough in YA fiction by itself, but on top of that, one of the characters is genderqueer and they become involved with the trans community on their campus. This sounds like an original story, with plenty of diverse characters that I need to read ASAP.

5. fingersmith by sarah waters

45162Sarah Waters is a critically acclaimed author who writes lesbian fiction, and I plan on working my way through her work starting with this one.

4. blue is the warmest color by Julie Maroh

17465574This graphic novel sounds stunning, both in the story and with the art.

3. Beauty queens by libba bray

9464733I have yet to read any Libba Bray, but I hope that one of my first will be this satire featuring a plethora of female characters, one of which is trans.

2. Fans of the impossible life by kate scelsa

24039396This book is going to be released in September as well. It involves a guy who falling in love with a girl and her gay male best friend. Bisexual love triangle? Yes, please. As soon as I heard about this, I requested it from the HarperCollins and kindly received an ARC. I cannot wait to read this as soon as possible.

1. The song of Achilles by madeline miller

13623848The fact that I haven’t read this is a tragedy. An Iliad retelling, revolving around the epic relationship between Achilles and Patroclus. And it of course ends tragically. Everyone I trust adores it and I cannot wait for it to rip out my heart and stomp on it.

What are some of your favorite diverse reads?

Samantha Signature

9 thoughts on “Books that Celebrate Diversity | Top 10 Tuesday

  1. Carolyn says:

    I love The Song of Achilles, the writing is so beautiful! And Blue is the Warmest Color is wonderful too, realistic and very honest portrayal of a romance. Black Iris has been on TBR forever! I should get to it soon =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

