A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery | Review

Stats:

Title: A Million Miles Away
Author: Lara Avery
Publisher: Poppy, 2015
Genre: Young Adult – Contemporary
Page Count: 302
My Rating: 3.5 stars
Where to Purchase: Amazon, The Book Depository, Barnes and Noble

*I received an ARC of this book at BEA, but this book has since been released.

synopsis (from goodreads):

When high school senior Kelsey’s identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn’t know about the tragedy is Michelle’s boyfriend, Peter, recently deployed to Afghanistan. But when Kelsey finally connects with Peter online, she can’t bear to tell him the truth. Active duty has taken its toll, and Peter, thinking that Kelsey is Michelle, says that seeing her is the one thing keeping him alive. Caught up in the moment, Kelsey has no choice: She lets Peter believe that she is her sister.

As Kelsey keeps up the act, she crosses the line from pretend to real. Soon, Kelsey can’t deny that she’s falling, hard, for the one boy she shouldn’t want.

my thoughts:

This is one of those books that you should know from the synopsis if you are going to enjoy or not. I am all about angst, so this synopsis stood out to me immediately and I wanted to know how much this was going to rip out my heart.

The first half of the book was full of angsty goodness. One element I really enjoyed was that Kelsey and her sister had a tumultuous relationship, and that was explored through Kelsey’s grief. This was an interesting take on twins, as we usually have twins being an inseparable force. I also really felt for Kelsey’s situation, as she was stuck between wanting to be honest and knowing how much her honesty could hurt (or second hand kill) someone.

As the book went on and we got to some of the events of the later half, I found the story getting more unbelievable. Peter’s deployment was very much glossed over, and wasn’t as much of a focus as I thought it would be, so if you are looking for something about a military boyfriend, this may not be for you. I also found myself reading less for the angst, and more to find out how she was going to get caught. Although Kelsey does eventually have to answer for her lies, I felt that she ultimately got off easily, and I found a lot of elements about the ending to be too easily resolved. There was another way the book could have gone, and I felt that would have sent a much better message.

Samantha Signature

Leave a Reply

