Update #2 | ARC August

This is my second update, as I skipped last week’s update. That week I was working on two books, one as a buddy read, as well as being incredibly busy with my parents visiting for the week. So I didn’t end up finishing any ARCs that week. But I tried to make up for all of that this week.

Book 3: Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson

17564519I absolutely adored Rae’s Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy, and this did not disappoint either. As a first book in the series, this was incredibly strong, and set up a lot for the future of the series. All of the characters are complex and real. There are a lot of different themes explored such as friendship, family, feminism, and gender roles. Rae’s first series was full of strong, and diverse characters, and this one is setting up to be as well. I will be doing a full video review on my channel closer to release date.

book 4: fans of the impossible life by Kate Scelsa

24039396This was a very highly anticipated LGBTQ+ read of mine that was described as being a bi-sexual love triangle. I highly enjoyed the first half of the book. I enjoyed the characters, and it was full of diversity, both in terms of sexualities and race. The writing style is also unique, as it is told in 1st, 2nd, and 3rd person, depending on which character you are reading from. But ultimately, I did end up having some problems with this one. Mental health is a strong theme in this book and I do not feel it was handled appropriately in many cases. I also do not think this was marketed properly, as no characters use the term bisexual in the story. Additionally, there are also some issues of consent as well as drug use that are not addressed and that I found problematic. I have a full review with my thoughts coming closer to release.

book 5: cut both ways by Carrie mesrobian

23718736This was another LGBTQ+ read and I ended up picking this one up directly after Fans of the Impossible Life, as this was also supposed to be a bisexual love triangle. Again, I was disappointed. I do not understand the point of this book. It had no plot or conflict resolution. The characters do not develop, and the main character, who is an asshole, is the same at the end as he was in the beginning. He has virtually no consequences for his actions. Additionally, for a book that is supposed to be about bisexuality, the character never once says he is bisexual. There are also some issues with consent in this one as well. I found the main character to be both bi-phobic and misogynistic. The depiction of bisexuality in this book is particularly problematic, as the main character frequently says “I want both” when referring to his girlfriend as well as his gay best friend that he is hooking up with. The bisexual community has been fighting to get people to see that not all bisexuals are in fact non-monogamous. Polyamorous and bisexual are two different classifications. But the author was playing them off as one in the same. There are so many more things to discuss and problems I had with this story, but I will leave it at that for now. A full review will be out closer to release date.

upcoming:

I am currently reading Six of Crows (finally!). After Six of Crows, I am torn about what to pick up next. I’m torn between What We Left Behind by Robin Talley (which I’m praying does not disappoint!) or A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston.

Samantha Signature

Leave a Reply

