Rogue by Rachel Vincent | Review

2314315Stats:

Title: Rogue (Book #2)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Publisher: Mira, 2008
Genre: Adult – Urban Paranormal Fantasy
Page Count: 394
My Rating: 2 stars
Where to Purchase: Amazon, The Book Depository, Barnes and Noble

synopsis (from goodreads):

WARNING: This is book 2 in the series so synopsis may contain spoilers!

I know that better than most. Since rejoining the Pride, I’ve made big decisions and even bigger mistakes: the kind paid for with innocent lives. As the first and only female enforcer, I have plenty to prove to my father, the Pride, and myself. And with murdered toms turning up in our territory, I’m working harder than ever, though I always find the energy for a little after-hours recreation with Marc, my partner both on- and off-duty.

But not all of my mistakes are behind me. We’re beginning to suspect that the dead are connected to a rash of missing human women and that they can all be laid at my feet–two or four, take your pick. And one horrible indiscretion may yet cost me more than I can bear…

my thoughts:

After all the fun I had with Stray, I was expecting to love Rogue just as much. Sadly, I found it disappointing.

First off, although this one is smaller than the first book, I found it to drag. I thought the plot was very predictable, and we were missing all of the character interactions that I loved from the first book.

Also, Faythe’s character wasn’t what it was in the first book. I found her rashness to be more annoying than enjoyable. There were also times where a plot point was very obvious, and it took her some time to figure out. This is not the perceptive character I loved in the first book.

Lastly, I found the relationship in this book to be problematic. What was an equal power dynamic in the first book switched to a relationship that read as very emotionally abusive. I expect these alpha male type characters in a book like this, and I can enjoy them. But the love interest crossed the lines in a lot of ways in this book and Faythe did not have the power that she had in the first book, which rubbed me the wrong way.

Overall, I found this book to be a completely different experience than the first book. I do plan to continue on with the series, but I am going to take a break before continuing, as this book left me with a bad taste in my mouth.

Samantha Signature

One thought on “Rogue by Rachel Vincent | Review

Leave a Reply

